Napa Valley/Suzanne’s Birthday Part 2

 

 

Next we went to Castello di Amorosa.  This castle was absolutely beautiful and ALMOST made me feel like I was Italy.  Now more than ever do I want to visit Italy…someday…on my honeymoon…sigh!



 

 

 

 

The Princess in front of the Castle…fitting right?

 

Doesn’t this room make you think of a King, Queen, and Jester?  I’m just waiting for them to pop out.

 

On our way down to the tasting area…

 

The tasting area.  I loved the ambiance, that of a real castle!

I’m pretty proud of myself…I even found a lighter body red wine that I liked, but of course it was sold out! I’ll have to keep an eye out for it to come back in stock because they don’t sell any of their wines in stores:(

 

On the way out we ran into this lovable, fat, sheep Jack!

 

 

 

Next stop Fleury!  This place requires a reservation, but has a very fun and upbeat atmosphere.  Each group gets a private tent set up and are then served  your tastings.  Every staff member we met were friendly, funny, and there to have a good time.  A great place to end the day!

Just hanging out in the vineyard…

 

 

Check out all the grapes…


 

Posing with all the delicious wine at Fleury!

 


Posing with the ladies at Fleury.

After a long day of wine tasting we headed over to the Mexican restaurant across the street from our hotel.  Everyone was exhausted and we planned on leaving after one drink….

Well a DJ and an hour until Suzanne’s birthday sure changed that.  The Birthday Girl and mine’s tab…

Classy right?  Probably explains why the bus driver and a member of the ferry staff asked if I was feeling sick. I don’t think I looked that rough…especially since Suzanne and I hadn’t planned on waking up until 11, but at 1045 her friend busts in our room and says we have to catch the bus by 1115…well shit!

Finally on the way back…the view from the ferry. 

Overall a great trip.  I can’t wait to move to Cali!

Sidenote 1:  If you ever go to San Fran…it’s FREEZING!  It was in the 50’s most of the time we were there.  It was a brutal awakening from the 100’s here in the midwest.  However, almost immediately getting over the Golden Gate Bridge things seem to warm up.

Sidenote 2:  I have never taken so much transportation in my life to get home.  A bus ride to the ferry, the train to the airport, a plane back home, a shuttle from the airport to my car, and then my car to home.  I think I pretty much covered all my bases in one day!

 

2 thoughts on “Napa Valley/Suzanne’s Birthday Part 2

Leave a Reply

