Happy birthday chels

HAPPY 24TH BIRTHDAY CHELS CHELS.

Being the great big sister I am I surprised Chels with a breakfast cupcake.

IMG_0909

 

After much procrastination and a joke of a workout we headed to South City to dink around.  Chels got to experience the wonderful world of Condom Kingdom and I took her to my new fav shop Temptation, where we each scored some cute new stuff. Pics to come as soon as I wear it!

Next on the agenda, Old City.  We circled around for quite a while…

i.e. we ended up getting lost…

drove along the water for a decent amount of time…

totally freaking us out, because for some reason being next to water that isn’t the nasty Mississippi freaks us out…

pulled into some ghetto store lot to figure out where we were…

finally heading in the right direction ended up where we started…

paid 20$ to park in this teeny tiny lot because we didn’t realize that you could park at the meters after 10…

and ended up finding this cute little restaurant Cuba Libre

Cuba Libre

I started my night off with a Pomegranate Mojito.  Apparently this place is known for their mojitos, and it was absolutely freaking delicious, and I don’t even like Mojitos.  Usually the mint is so over powering and has me going bleh…but this were seriously amazing.

IMG_0910

Chels didn’t get a drink because she is on this strict no drinking until St. Patrick’s Day kick…little did she know…

 

For dinner we decided to go tapas style so that we could try a bunch of different things…

We started with the gucamole cubano which was so delicous we ate it before I could take a picture…

Then the Pato Ahumando (duck deliciousness) and the Papas Relienas (potato and beef yumminess)…IMG_0912IMG_0911

and the El Chinito Cubano, also too good to wait for!

(P.S. Since it was a nice restaurant in between every “course” the waiter would come and sweep up the crumbs from the table.  I sweat Chels and I, even when we try to act all fancified, make a bigger mess together than a table of 10)

For dessert we enjoyed this Tres Leches de Caramelo…a kind of dessert that made my sister and I want to throw manners out the window and lick to plate clean.

We didn’t, but it was mucho tempting.

IMG_0913

Keeping with our Cuban theme our check was even served in a cigar box.  Haha awesome right?

IMG_0914

All in all a great restaurant.  The mojitos and dessert along are worth revisiting this place 🙂

Girls Night Out

After dinner Chels decided she wanted “a drink” of whiskey to celebrate her birthday so walked over to Mac’s Tavern…

Again my normally good sense of direction and Chels’ alway terrible sense of direction had has all turned around again…

Passing some creepy homeless dude asking us what day of the week it is…

Over several pieces of cobblestone and bumpy roads in my super tall heels in which Chelsea graciously offered me her chicken wing to hold on to…

We finally arrived at Mac’s and ordered a drink.  Luckily for us we quickly made friends with some guys sitting next to us who were from the area and invited us to come with them to Jolly’s, a local piano bar.

We were told it would be a little bit before we left so Chels decided to order a PBR to sip on while we were waiting…

Well that “little bit” turned into hey we are leaving and Chels slamming her PBR St. Louis style and a “you know I can’t just drink one!”

Next stop Jolly’s!

As frequent visitors of piano bars Chels and I knew what to expect, but I have to say this one though smaller than the ones from home, was a lot nicer and had some things I wished our local bars would pick up…

like the wall you pay to have a whatever you want written on it followed by the entire audience screaming it at the piano players discretion…

Since we arrived there quite early the going price was only 6$ and for that price you better believe I was going to put something up there…

Like…”Happy Birthday to sweet ass Chelsea”…

Unfortunately I couldn’t get a picture because it was written on glass and my camera wasn’t picking it up…

But still way funny to hear everyone in the bar scream…

 

IMG_0915

I wuv you Chels ❤

IMG_0916\

yeah that’s like drink number 4 in her hand…muahahaha

After Jolly’s started getting a little crowded by the drunken 50+ crowd that felt the need to consistently interact with our group…

Yes I did tell one of the boys to dance back when some older man came dancing up to him…

and yes some lady started telling us what all her and her friends stripper names were if you did that whole first animal name of the street you grew up on thing…

and headed over to Misconduct Tavern and some other bar I dont’ know the name of…-

IMG_0920

The awesome group we ended up spending the evening with

IMG_0921

IMG_0922IMG_0923

I’d say someone had waaaaaay more than her “a drink”…

The night ended with Philly cheesesteak from Pat’s…

Yeah didn’t know it was outside…

and yes we ate our sub in a cab on our way back to the car…

and yes chels found cheese all over her jacket the next day…

Man I love this girl!

Saturday

Saturday brought us sleeping in way too late…

Heading to Grotto’s to meet up with some of my new Delaware friends only to play several dollars worth of Exotic Photo Hunt

Then heading into the city dressed as semi hoosiers…

First stop Fados Irish bar for some Car Bombs…

IMG_0927

Yes this is the only pic of the day, but a great one I would say…

Then we headed back to Misconduct for the second night and actually met some other cool people who were in from Boston…

Which means more people to hang out with this St. Patrick’s Day…SCORE!

 

Such a great weekend…can’t wait to visit her in DC in just a couple of weekends…HOORAY!

One thought on “Happy birthday chels

  1. Pingback: Liv Pink

Leave a Reply

